Disease and Illness, Personal Experience, Self-Help

The Stomach Flu and Mint Tea

I’ve been down and out for the count this week due to the stomach flu. It might have been food poisoning but it seemed to last longer than that so I’m counting it as the flu. It seems to be the thing that’s going around right now, so here’s one of my tips to help calm your stomach: peppermint tea.

 

Mint has long been known as a remedy against nausea and peppermint has been a lifesaver for me this week. It helped me go from being a non-functioning parent on Tuesday morning to someone who could at least tolerate her young children crawling across her that evening.

a08cffa7008d0ca464abfd5e34d6994c

I always recommend buying loose-leaf teas whenever possible, as those found in ready-to-brew bags in the stores generally are the lowest, cheapest grade available on the market. I’ve been a long-time fan of Teavana, but in recent years have also found Steeped Tea and Yesterday’s Tea Cafe & Matcha Bar. (I’ve linked the Steeped Tea website to my personal consultant; she’s great and will help you with anything you need! Please let her know Leah referred you!) The last is run by one of the few tea masters in the United States, who really knows her stuff and who is a lovely person. If you love all the kinds of tea, make sure you also check out the tea bags and mesh infusers to find the perfect fit for you!

 

Here’s one last fabulous tip on how to reuse your tea bags, whether pre-made or prepped in your own kitchen: Unique Ways to Reuse An Old Tea Bag. I knew some of these but I found others really remarkable!

8edb1717ce3e3d7e64b29ea16c0f508f

Leave a Reply

