Essential Oils, Holistic Practices, Personal, Personal Experience, Self-Help

Why I’m Giving Up Selling Essential Oils

I love essential oils! Truly I do. I think they’re a wonderful way to boost a healthy lifestyle. They smell good. They work how people say they’re supposed to. They have all kinds of properties that are just plain good when diffused or diluted.

So why am I giving up selling them?

A couple reasons:

1. The market is saturated with “experts” hoping to earn a quick buck off their customers. I’m just not like that.

2. As I’ve been learning more about essential oils and their properties, I just don’t think that some of the claims made by direct sales companies are entirely accurate. Oh, they have good products! Don’t get me wrong. I’ve got nothing against the products. It’s more of the generalizations of some statements. As I keep reading up on essential oils and follow Robert Tisserand’s newsletter, I’m just realizing that using EO’s isn’t that simple.

3. To tie in with reason #2, I frankly don’t know enough to feel good about selling EO’s to others and give them good, safe information. For this reason, I’m hoping to eventually get my arromatherapy certification so I can better understand EO properties and how they can help (or not) each individual person.

It’s really that simple! If you’re looking for good places to begin learning more about essential oils, here are a few good starting points:

  • The Tisserand Institute (both the page and the newsletter)
  • Robert Tisserand on Facebook
  • Using Essential Oils Safely–both the website and Facebook page
  • Plant Therapy blog
  • Aromahead Institute (aromatherapy certification courses available here)

I’m still going to routinely share information about essential oils with you as I read up on them! I feel like the more informed people are, the better choices they can make for themselves! Just to reiterate: always do your own research! One of the best ways to learn about EO’s is to start smelling all kinds of brands. After a while, your nose knows which ones are good to use!

Leave a Reply

