You Learn Something New Every Day: Neurolinguistic Programming

July 3, 2014

Pinterest

Pinterest

We’ve all heard of the Mozart Effect and that classical music, in general, promotes skill-learning in children–and, I daresay, adults too. Whether or not the Mozart Effect is an actual phenomenon that makes a child smarter, it is fairly well known that classical music has numerous effects on the body, including calms the mind, eases tension, and possibly improves memory. (Here’s another study on how music affects the brain. And another.)

 

And then there is this post. Granted, this was found on Facebook. So I did some research and here is what I found, thanks to PubMed:

 

 

Don’t understand medical vernacular? Here is a direct quote from the main NLP website:

 

Neuro-Linguistic Programming™ (NLP™) is defined as the study of the structure of subjective experience and what can be calculated from that and is predicated upon the belief that all behaviour has structure.

 

Now, at first glance, perhaps all of these things mentioned above-classical music, the Facebook post, PubMed and the quote–look like they have little that links them. But think for a moment. How many times have you been listening to the radio, day in and day out, and suddenly you’re singing along to that new song?

 

Honestly, I’m not throwing rocks. A review of my Pandora playlist will reveal that I enjoy listening to a wide range of music, from Epica to Clannad, from Sarah Brightman to Hymns, from Azam Ali and Anoushka Shankar to Enya and DJ Tiesto. I listen to almost everything, but classical is one of my go-to favorites, especially when I need to wind down after a long, stressful day, or whenever I need something to keep me in a calm frame of mind.

 

I’ve also started paying more attention to what I play when my daughter is around because, as the Facebook post suggests, music triggers a part of the brain that helps subconscious learning. With so much of today’s popular music objectifying women and endorsing unhealthy habits, I’d rather not have her listen to it–her brain is a little sponge right now. Whatever she hears, she absorbs.

 

What you listen to and play around your children is your business, not mine. I am merely posting this information on NLP because, perhaps like you, I had never heard of it before and it’s made me more aware of what I do.

Leave a Reply

