Exciting News (Plus a Shameless Plug) on Essential Oils

Two of my goals this year were to learn how to make my own skincare products and become more debt-free. I’ve also had a growing interest in essential oils in the past two years, since being formally introduced to them through my yoga teacher training (one goal accomplished, by the way, back in January). Well, this week, after much waiting (on what direction the husband’s career was going to take) and praying, I’ve finally committed to becoming a doTERRA wellness advocate! And I’m terribly excited!

 

I’ve tried several brands of essential oils in the past, but none have stood up to the quality that I’ve found with doTERRA. Their oils are more fragrant, richer, and work better than any other product that I’ve used in the past. Here are some of my experiences with their oils:

 

  • Melaleuca (tea tree) oil is a staple in my kit. I use it in almost everything, from adding it to sugar scrubs to cloth wipes (I cloth diaper) for my daughter. Since skin issues run in my family, melaleuca helps soothe and heal eczema and psoriasis flare-ups. It also has kept my daughter rash free from birth!
  • Lavender is another one of my must-haves. Not only is it extremely calming and helps with insomnia, from which I suffer from time to time, it also aids in digestion and intestinal relief. When my daughter was a few months old, she developed bad gas. I placed a drop of lavender in a vegetable carrier oil and rubbed it clockwise on her belly, and it helped relieve her pain and pass the gas.
  • Peppermint is both invigorating and relaxing. Toward the end of my pregnancy, I developed some swelling in my ankles. Another student of mine had very bad edema throughout her own pregnancy. We both experienced water loss–in her words, she no longer felt like she was going to “burst out of her skin.” (I gave her the rest of my bottle to keep.)
  • Ginger is well-known for it’s effect on nausea. As many of you who follow this blog may know, I had extreme nausea throughout my entire pregnancy. Ginger, combined with peppermint beadlettes (which doTERRA still sells), greatly reduced my nausea so that I could complete a yoga training.
  • Lemon is not only one of my favorite fragrances, it also tastes fabulous in water and has powerful detoxifying properties. I love putting a drop or two into a glass–and that’s all you need!
  • Wild orange has an uplifting fragrance that, when I wear it on my wrists, just makes me a little bit happier and gives me a slight boost in energy. Yet, it does not promote anxiety, but acts as a soothing scent while not making you sleepy.
  • Oregano was once used in a yoga class I took during a training to help support the immune system. We were focusing on moving lymph. I don’t know precisely how it worked, but I felt terrific after class.
  • DeepBlue is an oil blend that I personally have not tried but several of my friends and family have. My favorite story is that of my mother, who has a couple herniated discs in her back. When DeepBlue was applied to her back at the site of pain, she had instant relief for quite some time. (Note, no oil takes away pain permanently.)

 

There are many oils out there that I haven’t yet tried. Recent studies suggest that cancer patients may be helped by such oils as frankincense and sandalwood. The woman who introduced me to doTERRA’s products stated that she hadn’t had a MRSA outbreak since she’d started a regular essential oil regimen. One of my instructors told me that she hasn’t been sick since she’s begun using them regularly.

 

Regardless of whether or not you try doTERRA, there are a few things you want to look for when sourcing essential oils. First, look for the use of science in the quality testing done by the company–doTERRA uses mass spectrometry and gas chromatography to verify the purity of their products. Look also to see whether a company gets their products independently tested for purity. DoTERRA uses one such source that certifies the oils’ purity. Third, make certain that you are using a therapeutic-grade oil that is not cut with any other fillers. Part of the reason why many store-bought oils are so inexpensive is because the oils in them are cut with fillers.

 

Most importantly, if you have any questions at all, talk with a consultant. Also talk with a doctor knowledgeable in alternative holistic practices, especially if you have conditions. By and large, good, certified pure, therapeutic-grade oils are not toxic to use, but it is important to know which ones will help and which ones may hinder. The FDA does not regulate the development, sales, and use of essential oils as they are considered supplements.

 

On one final note, I will be posting doTERRA’s specials each month with information on them. There is no obligation to purchase. It is as much informational as it is a plug for my fledgling business. Please always feel free to contact me with questions. I will do my best to answer them.

 

This month’s oils:

  • Balance (blend): “Everyone experiences moments of disconnectedness or anxiety. The warm, woody aroma of Balance, doTERRA’s grounding blend, creates a sense of calm and well-being. We perfectly blend spruce, rosewood, frankincense, and blue tansy with fractionated coconut oil to offer an enticing fragrance which promotes tranquility and a sense of balance. For aromatic and topical use.” (Taken from doTERRA website.)
  • TerraShield (blend): “TerraShield is an all-natural formula of citronella, cedarwood, and a blend of 11 other therapeutic-grade essential oils blended in a base of fractionated coconut oil. A primary function of essential oils in plants is protecting against insects and other predators. Unlike other products that contain synthetic and toxic chemicals, TerraShield is a natural approach to managing exposure to biting insects. TerraShield’s fresh, light citrus smell is wonderfully invigorating and can be used safely by everyone in the family. One application provides coverage that lasts up to 6 hours.” (Taken from doTERRA website.)

 

Those who may have sensitive skin may wish to use a vegetable carrier oil (fractionated coconut oil, olive oil, etc.) to dilute pure essential oils. While the two above are already blended with a carrier base, the wearer can choose to dilute them further if necessary. Consult physicians if the sensitivity becomes worse or before using any oils on young children.

 

Want to know more? Watch this “Ask Dr. Hill” about TerraShield:

2 thoughts on “Exciting News (Plus a Shameless Plug) on Essential Oils

  1. I had half a comment and it disappeared. Anyway, I love Melaleuca oil for the promotion of healing of cuts and scrapes. Also the Deep Blue is wonderful. I swear by it for aches and pains.

Leave a Reply

