December 2013 Articles and Recipes

December 19, 2013

Christmas is coming,

The goose is getting fat!

Please put a penny in the old man’s hat.

If you haven’t got a penny, a ha’penny will do,

And if you haven’t got a ha’penny, then God bless you!

–“Christmas is Coming” (a carol)

Above is one of my all-time favorite traditional Christmas carols. I’m not sure which group first sung it the first time I heard it but I loved the rendition so well, I’ve remembered it. And while I don’t have any recipes for a goose at present, I did want to leave you with the articles and recipes that have been collecting in my inbox since I last worked on my blog, pre-vacation. I hope you find them as informative and useful as I do. Happy Christmas to everyone around the world! I hope you enjoy it with family and friends, and find it filled with love and good memories.

Articles

Daily Bites’ Holiday Favorites

10 Minute Medicine Ball Workout

20 Minute Tabata Inspired Workout

Quickie Bodyweight Workout for the Busiest Time of Year

The Right Way to Train for a Marathon

Age is Just a Number

Innovative Chair Exercises for Seniors

MBSR Program, Especially Yoga, Helps Older Adults

Mind-Body Therapies and Sleep for Women in Midlife

Progressive Core Exercises for Beginners and Beyond

Too Much Protein?

Thrive in 5 This Holiday Season

Overwork/Long Hours May Contribute to Depression

Mind-Body Bridging

Yoga, an Athlete’s Fountain of Youth?

Aloe: “Save it for Sunburns”

Low Gut Bacteria Linked to Obesity, Inflammation

What is Candida and How Do I Know If I Have It? (opinion piece)

Kimchi

6 Anti-Anxiety Foods to Calm Your Mind

Broccoli’s Benefits

The Golden-Orange Goodness of Turmeric (former post on it here)

Pre- and Post-Workout Snacks

Cracking the Code on Food and Nutrition Labels

Food Journals: A Dieter’s Best Friend

Planning Makes Perfect

Recipes

Gourmet Cranberry Buckwheat Granola (gluten-free)

Apple Museli Balls

Martha Stewart’s Nearly Zero Prep-Time Dinners

Spaghetti Squash with Chicken, Apples and Kale

Roasted Delicata Squash Biscuits

Healthy Holiday Recipes Featuring Butternut Squash

How to Make Homemade Coconut Cream

Apricot Almond Loaf

Lemon Chickpea Muffins

Pumpkin Coconut Tart

Pumpkin Custard Bars (grain- and dairy-free)

How to Create Healthy Holiday Cookies

How to Make Candied Citron (found this in preparation for making a very old fruitcake recipe…the only one I’ve ever liked!)

Chocolate Peppermint Protein Smoothie

3 Responses to “December 2013 Articles and Recipes”

  1. habisha said

    Mmmm. You always dish out the best stuff. That carol above was on a CD we have that is full of old traditional Christmas songs. But I grew up knowing that song. What does that make me? Old or traditional? No, don’t answer that; I know which way you’ll go!

Leave a Reply

