Babies and Children

Book Review: Changing Diapers by Kelly Wels

A few weeks ago, I wrote a huge post on cloth diapering (CD)–how to go about choosing whether or not to CD, how to pick the types of diapers to buy and try, and my reasons behind my choice for doing it. This was the culmination of 4-5 months of research that I undertook to decide exactly what I wanted to do, a long and very tedious process that often became overwhelming.

 

Well, I’m happy to say that there is a book out there that makes this easier, and I just read it! I wish I’d found it much sooner than I had. Better late than never, however. For those yet undecided about CDing, this is definitely worth a few hours of your time. It’s an easy read addressing all of the topics that crop up when couples are deciding what they want to do regarding baby poop. And it has pictures. And diagrams. And very cute pictures of diapers and babies in them.

 

Linked to Amazon; check it out!
Linked to Amazon; check it out!

Changing Diapers: The Hip Mom’s Guide to Modern Cloth Diapering by Kelly Wels is a straight-forward discussion on fluff–er, diapers. The chapters range from the reasons why people choose to CD (read post above for my own, if interested), diaper lingo to help a newbie wade through all the terminology and choices, brands, how to handle skeptical daycares, what dads have to say on the matter, laundry, and a short but excellent resource section. (I should mention, I really love the resource section! It’ll make anyone’s life easier.) There are also side bars chalk full of personal testimonies, earth-saving tips, “fluffy stuff” (diaper talk), and places to go for more information.

 

Let me just say, this book is fabulous. I highly recommend it, not because I’m pro-CDing but because it lays out the whole idea in a simple format while simultaneously banishing preconceived notions about CDing. It’s not the rubber pants and flats that grandmother used to use any longer. These are a cute, fashionable way to save a lot of money (and planet Earth in the process).

 

Not only would this book make a great baby shower idea, it is an ideal gift or suggestion to any new (or returning) parent whose mind isn’t made up on the matter–or whose mind might be swayed by statistics. I think that, while it’s a great guide for those who are already planning to CD, it’s an even better resource for those who haven’t considered it or are concerned about what they’re in for should they consider it. I think Ms. Wels does an excellent job opening readers’ eyes without casting judgment upon them for the choices they’ll make (or have made in the past).

 

Again, it isn’t necessarily about selling the reader anything. It’s about informing the reader of their options. I like that. I think you will too.

 

Taken from Changing Diapers, p. 81:

 

C–Chemical Free

L–Leakproof

O–One Size

T–Tender

H–Handy

 

D–Dependable

I–Ideal

A–Adorable

P–Penny Pinching

E–Eco-friendly

R–Rash-free

 

–A.C. Wantage, New Jersey

 

In closing, I’d just like to add that I think a lot of people are looking for alternatives to the way things are usually done. I think people want to be well-informed consumers. I think people are tired of being told what’s good for them (and their families). They want to be able to know what’s in their products, to touch and feel them. Ms. Wels’ book does just that, regardless of the way you choose to go. In the end, you’ll make the best choice for you and your family!

 

Rating: 5 of 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Changing Diapers by Kelly Wels”

Leave a Reply

