Christmas Woes: Taking Time For Yourself

December 20, 2012

My woes this holiday season are many, it seems. I’m way behind on the shopping, finishing gifts bit. That’s alright though. I had a great time at my Seattle yoga training session. Although I received the merry gift of a whopping cold that left me flat on my sofa for two straight days, it was great to take the day I had off to see my family. After all, spending time with those we love most is what the holidays are all about, no matter how far behind one feels (for whatever reason).

 

One of the morning yoga classes I took was called Yoga For A Season Of Giving. The whole idea was about giving back to yourself during a time that often becomes stressful, leading to anxieties and frustrations and cranky moods rather than soothing peacefulness. I had a chance to think about this while taking this hour-long session (again, YogaFit rocks stockings! ;)) and my own challenges for being a happier, healthier person while lying on the couch.

 

At the beginning of our Level 3 training, we were asked to write down 1) how we compete/compare ourselves to others and, 2) how we can bring more love and acceptance into our lives towards ourselves and, by extension then, toward others. My biggest problem is, and has always been, comparing the way I look to others. To be perfectly honest, I’m a broke-ass military wife. It’s just the way it is, and this feeling of lacking money has been around in my life for a long time. I don’t blame anyone for it; it’s just reality. And it sucks. It really does. There are things I need and/or want that I have to do without, and that leads to comparing myself with others who obtain those things no problem.

 

Looks are, for whatever reason, a big deal to me, and that’s because our culture emphasizes these things–youthful beauty, clothes, make-up, etc.–in a barrage of advertisements everywhere. I honestly think that if we emphasized good character more than age and what we wear, I’d probably feel differently. I’d have different things I’d compare with others.

 

The thing that I am realizing as I grow older, however, is that these things vanish. One day you’re the prom queen, the next your the old clerk behind a cash register. They aren’t the things that really matter. This knowledge doesn’t mean that it’s any easier to be happy with the shape of one’s body or the pant size you wear, but overtime, I think those things fade away into the back of our minds as other things become more important.

 

Which brings me back to Yoga For the Season of Giving. The biggest lesson that I learned from taking that class–from experiencing YogaFit as  a rule–is how vitally important it is for us to fill up our own cups. If we don’t, we aren’t giving from the wealth that is in ourselves but the poverty. As a result, we often give less and less willingly. I have found that by taking the time to help myself, to fill my cup, that my cup overflows. I am happier, healthier, and it matters less that I’m not wealthier in purse because I’m wealthier in spirit.

 

I encourage you to take a few moments each day, at any point in the day, to practice a little self-giving. Maybe it’s savoring a cup of coffee. Maybe it’s shutting yourself away for a nice long afternoon nap. Yoga For the Season of Giving doesn’t have to be postures or exercise. It simply is a form of refilling yourself, recharging for the next task that comes our way.

4 Responses to “Christmas Woes: Taking Time For Yourself”

  1. habisha said

    Exactly! Glad you are learning this. I’ve practiced the “filling yourself” for a long time, recognizing that you can’t give if you’ve nothing left to give.

    Poverty sucks and I’m sorry you have to experience it. You went through enough of it as a child. I’m so glad you’re able to do YogaFit and praying you still get more scholarships to continue.

    As for the comparing ourselves amongst ourselves. I get it, but honestly, you are lovely and brilliant. I know you want more for yourself, and that’s good. Just remember in the end brilliance fades and the body turns to dust. How we dress the outside doesn’t matter as much as what we develop on the inside. I think you’ve done a great job so far.

    • Meredith Rose Ashe said

      I know all these things. Still, it gets to you sometimes, and sometimes its good to recognize these things about yourself. That way you can deal with them and let them go in order that you be yourself.

      • habisha said

        It does get to you sometimes. I have my own issues of comparison and then have to realize I am what I am and can’t worry about someone else. It’s a life-time journey, I think, this taking stock and comparing, and letting go. Being yourself in a world that only allows the beautiful and most accomplished to win is difficult, but I think we’re farther ahead if we learn to just be what we are. Not easy. I’m proud of you for learning this early.

      • Meredith Rose Ashe said

        Thanks

Leave a Reply

