Pumpkin Recipes (2012) Just In Time For Fall!

Pumpkin is possibly my favorite fall food. As summer dwindles down, I am constantly thinking about how many cans of pumpkin puree will be in the store come October. It is healthy, loaded with nutrients, and just plain delicious. Also, there are great ways to incorporate it into regular recipes, including:

  • Substitute pumpkin for butter/oil in pancakes/waffles
  • Put pumpkin seeds in homemade granola
  • Turn puree into a simple but tasty soup

I follow quite a few blogs of foodies and/or nutritionists who love to experiment with seasonal foods and who try to make their recipes, gluten-, dairy-, casein-, refined sugar-, and egg-free. As desserts are usually our favorite part of the fall foray, I thought I would include one or two in the recipes give below. Enjoy, and ask the blog experts questions if you have any! Even though I do not know them personally, they seem like great, friendly people.

Pumpkin Donut Holes with Sunbutter Caramel Drizzle

Flourless Pumpkin-Pecan Cookies

Soft Pumpkin Cookies (having been to the bakery she mentions, I know how good these are; I cannot wait to try this recipe for myself)

Spicy Butternut Squash Pie (so it’s not pumpkin, but technically pumpkin is a variety of squash)

Pumpkin Chocolate Oatmeal Tart (pumpkin and chocolate sound like an odd mix, but I absolutely love a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin one company around here makes so…)

Cream of Pumpkin Soup–Dairy-Free (just found this through this blog!)

Pumpkin Smoothie (for more smoothies, see full post here)

There are a million other pumpkin recipes out there. Our favorites tend to be those we grew up with. Great! Try a new spin on them, see how healthy you can make them.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Recipes (2012) Just In Time For Fall!

  1. Yum, I’d like one of each please. With a cup of coffee, which is actually good for a body. And a piece of coconut.

    I found coconut flakes at Costco. I don’t think they were sweetened. Do you want some?

  2. If/when I remember?! Uh, what was that again? Okay, we’ll get you some … whatever it was … when I remember. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

